Fellowship Recipients

Fellowship Recipients


 2017–18 established a benchmark for Hunter students in nationally competitive fellowships. In addition to compiling a record number of prestigious fellowships this year, we would like to highlight a few individual accomplishments as well: Thamara V. Jean (’18) won Hunter’s first-ever Rhodes Scholarship; Matthew LoCastro (’17) won our second-ever Luce Scholarship; and Safia Mahjebin (’19) is the second student in Hunter’s history to win the Truman Scholarship. Once again, Hunter students were well represented in scholarships for intensive foreign language study, in the Fulbright Scholarship Program, in the Public Policy and International Affairs Summer Institute, and Humanity-in-Action. Hunter students also won 4 Jonas E. Salk Scholarships and secured an unprecedented 4 Jeannette K. Watson Fellowships this year.Congratulations to this year’s winners (below) and thanks to everyone in the Hunter community and friends of Hunter who supported all of our student applicants!


Boren Scholarship

Anthony Edwards (’20)

Chennai Marcus (’21)


Center for Arabic Study Abroad (CASA)

Fatoumata Bah (’20)

Hajara Masood (’16)


Critical Language Scholarship

Fatoumata Bah (’20)

Eliot Hetterly (Grd)

Saim Siddiqui (’18)


Foreign Language & Area Studies Scholarship

Fatima Tariq (’20)



Rauful Hossain (’20)

Alejandro Quintero (’20)


Fulbright Scholarship

Victoria DiTomasso (’18)

Lindsay Griffiths (’18) [declined]

Eleni Katechis (’18)

Ardit Marku (’18)

Michael Mazzeo (’18)

Marielle Ray (’18)


Benjamin A. Gilman Scholarship

Omar Albert (‘19)

Eric Almonte (’18)

Natasha Daneilian (Grd)

Mrinali Dhembla (’20)

Rauful Hossain (’20)

Mehriniso Khaydarova (’19)

Kelly Liang (’19)

Cait McDonough (’19)

Audrey Moore (’19)

Claudia Paguay (’19)

Libby Pollak (’19)

Alejandro Quintero (’19)


Humanity in Action

Kevin Tang (’18)

Marharyta Labkovich (’17)

Dariann Rickerson (’18)

Kevin Tang (’18)


Luce Scholarship

Matthew LoCastro (’17)


National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship

Emily Lau (’18)


NYC Urban Fellows

Nicole Krishtul (’18)

Maria Ledesma (’18)


Pulitzer Center Student Fellowship

Kadia Goba (’18)


Public Policy & International Affairs Junior Summer Institute

Mariama Badjie (’19)

Christopher Sperrazza (’19)

Jessica Sun (’19)


Rhodes Scholarship

Thamara V. Jean (’18)


Jonas E. Salk Award

Elizabeth Gorodetsky (’17)

Jack Jnani (’17)

Marharyta Labkovich (’17)

Daniela Mikhaylov (’16)


Truman Scholarship

Safia Mahjebin (’19)

Jeannette K. Watson Fellowship

Isabel Gouse (’20)

Shakila Khan (’21)

Melissa Lent (’20)

Jacob Sellman (’21)